The purpose of the Finnish State Art Commission is to acquire works of art for Government properties and buildings in Government use, and to attend to the management of its Art Collection. The commission was established in 1956. Works were commissioned directly from artists and acquired through competitions and purchases. Decisions on acquisition are made by a committee consisting of a chairperson, a vice chairperson and six members.

The Finnish State Art Deposit Collection is one of the largest art collections in Finland, containing approximately 13,600 works from different areas of art. The guiding principle of the commission has always been to acquire contemporary art, the most recent and topical works. Public commissions are a key aspect of the collection.

The Collection of Finnish State Art Commission Online

State Art Commission 2017–2019

Chairman: Jari Auer, architect

Senior Conservator Siukku Nurminen
Special Advisor Henri Terho
Artist, Professor Annu Vertanen
Artist Tuomo Rainio
Sculptor and Glass Artist Riikka Latva-Somppi
Painter Paavo Paunu
Sculptor Nora Tapper

Senior Producer Eija Aarnio